no closed loop/closed loop

Break out the ducktape !

Moderators: snoopdog, Amphiprion, AgeDynasty

Post Reply
User avatar
peleg
Amoeba
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:42 pm

no closed loop/closed loop

Post by peleg » Fri Mar 10, 2006 12:54 pm

my problem is that i have no holes in bottem of tank(135) and i wan to put more water movement. is it feasable to put a couple of submersibles in the tank connected to spayers embbeded in my lr?

User avatar
peleg
Amoeba
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:42 pm

Post by peleg » Sat Mar 11, 2006 10:05 am

so i guess it is not the right way to go. i just didn't want all the pipes in the tank

User avatar
medikall
Amoeba
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:02 pm
Location: Milton, FL
Contact:

Post by medikall » Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:29 pm

It can be done, but over time there will be crap that gets into the impellers and foul them up. Do you really want to be taking apart your rock work every 6 months or so to rebuild your pumps?
Sean

User avatar
Fishfood
Chromis
Posts: 1831
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 12:41 pm
Are you a Bot ?: No
Location: Mobile

Post by Fishfood » Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:32 pm

I went with a closed-loop but do not have my tank drilled either. I put a piece of black pvc in the tank and suck the water up over the back down to the pump back into the tank. The reefflo dart gives me great movement.

User avatar
peleg
Amoeba
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:42 pm

Post by peleg » Sun Mar 12, 2006 4:19 pm

thanks for the tips. i think i will make a wavemaker model like on melvins website http://www.melevsreef.com/how_to_build.html thanks again.
135 reef,

User avatar
peleg
Amoeba
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:42 pm

Post by peleg » Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:04 pm

end post
135 reef,

Post Reply