Lighting Help......Please....

Reefkeeping, Coral, Fish and Invertebrates.

Moderator: snoopdog

Shelly
Amoeba
Are you a Bot ?: No

Lighting Help......Please....

Post by Shelly »

First the disclaimer....I am very new to this.

I have a 36 gallon aquarium that is 20 inches deep. I have a coralife bulb on it but I don't like the look.

This aquarium is in the living and to be honest I seem to spend more time watching it then I do the TV.
I also don't like the fixtures that sit on top of the glass. It limits access and I don't like the look.

I have no coral in there at this time but I am cycled and ready to add.

Money is an issue.

http://www.expresslightbulbs.com/aquari ... -p-24.html

Any thoughts of using these bulbs in a 3 bulb fixture? Was kinda thinking 2 6500 k and 1 daylight on seperate switches?

What wattage would you recommend? Mounted how high off the top of the glass?

Thank you for any help offered.
Amphiprion
Astrea snail

Re: Lighting Help......Please....

Post by Amphiprion »

What you really need is this: http://www.hydroponics.net/i/133318

Seriously, though, what, if any, corals do you plan on keeping? How deep do you want them in the tank? If you don't plan on having corals, I'd spring between 42w--23w lamps. If you do plan on having corals, I'd shoot more for this: http://www.fishneedit.com/150w-metal-ha ... t-lig.html Not a bad price on that at all, either. This is also a reasonable option: http://www.fishneedit.com/new-light.html
Andrew

25g planted nature aquarium
29nanomob
Copepod

Post by 29nanomob »

the bulbs you are refering to are for a freshwater plant aquarium. they refer to 6,500k daylight as strong. you need 20,000k for the best look 14,000k for the best growth.