Hello Everyone

Discussion Of Local Group Meetings For the Baldwin County and Mobile Area

Moderator: snoopdog

LoneStar
Amoeba

Hello Everyone

Post by LoneStar »

Hello,

I was reading threads on SWF.com and happened to see a post which directed me to this site. I definitely was not expecting to see so many locals. This web site is well put together.
I am originally from Mobile but now reside in Grand Bay, AL. I have been fooling around with tanks for about 15 years and salt water tanks for about 7. I moved onto the reef scene about 4 years ago and lost the interest of fish only tanks immediately. Up until 2 months ago, I had 5 tanks set up all around the house. In December I had to leave town on a job and my main tank sprung a leak. The wife could not reach me for a solid week so she did exactly as I asked her to (which was to keep the water level at the water mark). Needless to say, I came home to an almost freshwater tank with no corals or inverts alive. Since then, I have decided to combine the contents of all of the tanks and start over once again.
My setup now is a 190 gal tank with a 75 gal sump/fuge built into the stand. I use a ampmaster 3000 in a closed loop for circulation. All I use as a return from the sump is a mag 7. I may upgrade to a mag 12 soon but all seems to be working good so far. I run 4 VHO actinics with 3 250w metal halides 6500k. I would say that I have approx 250lbs of live rock and about 240 lbs of aragonite sand.
I was very excited to see this forum and I do look forward to attending your monthly meetings.

Thank You,
Jeremy Eddins
Scott
Goby
Are you a Bot ?: No

Post by Scott »

Welcome! Do you have corals yet?
Wanted: to set up a tank again.
LoneStar
Amoeba

Post by LoneStar »

Yes, I have started a few sps' and a couple leathers. Nothing to brag about but you have to start somewhere.

Jeremy
tbmoore
Astrea snail

Post by tbmoore »