skimmers and return pumps - officially hijacked

Reefkeeping, Coral, Fish and Invertebrates.

Moderator: snoopdog

mykpoz
Amoeba

skimmers and return pumps - officially hijacked

Post by mykpoz »

Hey there,

As some of you may know, I am fairly new to the hobby.

I am about to fix a mistake in my return plumbing to subtract @6-8 feet of head pressure to increase the flow into the tank from the sump.

But there seems to be a problem. currently my mag24 has @13-14feet of head, and is opperating way under what its capable of. But on the flip side, my overflow seems to be barely keeping up with the demand (2 1" drains into sump.)

Is there anyone around that would be willing to help me in my situation? I really want to increase the flow, just would like some experienced help along the way.
Last edited by mykpoz on Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
snoopdog
Yellow Tang
Are you a Bot ?: No

Post by snoopdog »

Well since Rich Gallop at Progressive has been doing this so long you may want to consult him. He has setup more tanks than anyone here, so he can probably figure out the return GPH. I honestly would think two one inch would be too small. Also if the return pipes are submurged under water in the sump it should pull more. When my sump gets low and the return is above the water line my tank makes horrible gurgling noises and does not flow as well.
"When they was no meat we ate fowl, when there was no fowl we ate crawdad. And when there was no crawdad to be found, we ate sand."--Cellmate
"You ate what?"--H.I.
"We ate sand."--Cellmate
"You ate sand?"--H.I.
"That's right."--Cellmate
Redfish
Copepod

Post by Redfish »