What salary should I ask for?

Off Topic Discussion - Chat about anything, just keep it fairly clean.

Moderator: snoopdog

danielmiller82
Bristleworm

What salary should I ask for?

Post by danielmiller82 »

Recently, I was loaned over part time to the IT dept. here at the TV station. I am a graphic artist, but know enough about computers and networking to do that stuff too.

The IT director asked me a question today that I found interesting. He asked me how much per year it would take for me to leave my graphic design position and work as a full time tech guy. I have done tech previously for about 9 months but that was while I was also working as a graphics guy.

Anyways...my question here today...what is a reasonable salary to ask for in the tech field in this area. The job would consist pretty much of setting up new computers, troubleshooting hardware and software and working on broadcast equipment. Anyone who would have an idea of the general salary for this kind of job let me know please!!!
-daniel
http://www.admiller.com
-30g long and a 9g percula tank in the babies room.
Scott
Goby
Are you a Bot ?: No

Post by Scott »

I have no idea what that position might pay but I would figure out the ranges of salaries that are advertised for a similar position, average them and add a couple thousand. That would give you a good average with some room to negatiate.
Wanted: to set up a tank again.
110chadman
Copepod

Post by 110chadman »

ask for a million dollars and a 6 pack!!!! lol

just take what you make now and add 10 to 20 % increase depending on what the work load consists of will you work lots of overtime would you enjoy the positon ( tv engineers can make good money ) and go all over the place

its up to you

also if you get the position just tell them you want to use lots of maxell video tape and you want to put in all new hd cameras !!!

chad
gitting things back in order and starting over!!!
snoopdog
Yellow Tang
Are you a Bot ?: No

Post by snoopdog »